bolivar & monte cristo box issues

MrArlo

Hi Folks - Relative newbie here. Been reading the forum here and there throughout the years. Thanks for all the great content!

I was wondering what your thoughts were on a couple of boxes I recently picked up from a reputable online vendor. I have some concerns about the condition of the boxes that I received. Not sure if this is normal. In the past (other vendors), for all authentic Cuban cigar boxes that I have purchased, the condition of the box, seal and security features have been impeccable.

The boxes from this order have some questionable features. Please see the attached photos.

For the box of Bolivars, all the authentication features have been removed, so no way to verify authenticity. Also, the box is in horrible condition, with apparently broken seals.

For the box of Montecristos, the seals appears to have been tampered with (as if they were removed, box opened, then replaced). It seems very clear from the photos.

Again, I have never seen this in any of the authentic boxes of Cuban cigars that I have received in the past. All contain flat seals with all security features in tact.

I haven't opened the boxes yet. Wanted to touch base with the folks on this forum and vendor before doing so.

Any insight is greatly appreciated.

Many thanks,

Mr. Arlo

Bolivar Coronas Junior

bolivar1.thumb.JPG.47fb1e561ace9c2d180232948f739e90.JPG

bolivar2.thumb.JPG.7bc4f718469a9a613dd3d31991335bf5.JPG

bolivar3.thumb.JPG.2c035f5f40dd7600f596055ec1fbf7fa.JPG

bolivar4.thumb.JPG.5f026935886921f1f009a7f5e73c2121.JPG

Montecristo No. 5

montecristo1.thumb.JPG.d996a9a97cb137fed04eb570c9f6c11f.JPG

montecristo2.thumb.JPG.8e6c291a48fc7494ec6e8d7667c1047e.JPG

montecristo3.thumb.JPG.5d9806e4e0ab950b9a21ab2ae0eba5da.JPG

Did you check the serial number on the habanos website?

No way to tell from here, even if you showed us the cigars. I think smoking one would be your best option.