What to buy while in Havana

Riverstyx

Hi guys,

Newbie here from Jacksonville, FL.  Heading to Cuba this weekend, and I've been reading up on this site about what to expect, but I'm curious: If you went to Havana, what one cigar (box) would you regret not purchasing.  Assuming you come across it, of course.  I'm fairly new to this whole CC thing, so while I'm familiar with what a lot of people like, I still want to make sure I don't have any regrets as this is likely the only time I go to Cuba. 

If you feel like sharing any other special tips, feel free.  I'll be there for only 4 days, and staying at the Kempinski.  Anyone heard anything about the Cohiba Atmosphere shop there?  

Thanks in advance

I would highly recommend custom rolls.  There is a thread somewhere in this section that discusses where to get them as well as the rollers to look for.  As for a box of regular production, maybe something that has been thin on the ground in the retail sector.  Maybe some Cuban RE (Regional Editions specifically for Cuba).

Enjoy your trip and be sure to post an intro of yourself in the Newbie Intro section.

Thanks.  Yeah, I've been reading up on custom rolls.  

I'm trying to think of packing these bad boys...if I don't have room in my suitcase for everything I buy, will it be easy to purchase another bag in Havana that I can check?

Bring a soft bag with and pack it in your suitcase on the inland journey (try to only do carry on as the airport can be a nightmare).

On the return put all your cloths in the soft bag and check your original bag with sticks. Bring some tupaware containers to pack them in.

Bring a soft bag with and pack it in your suitcase on the inland journey (try to only do carry on as the airport can be a nightmare).

On the return put all your cloths in the soft bag and check your original bag with sticks. Bring some tupaware containers to pack them in.