Public speaking advice

Any sage advice on this greatly appreciated. I have to give a 4-5 minute speech in front of 1,000 people and I've never done this before. The thought of it fills me with mild terror but it has to be done. The context is the world premiere of a feature-length documentary film I've made at a film festival in Melbourne. I have to introduce the film. The content of what I'm going to say isn't the problem, it's the...fear of public speaking, Glossophobia it's called and I got a bad case of it right here. Any advice most appreciated.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

• Like 1

... spend 4 minutes saying how comfortable you feel behind the camera but not in front of it. Talk about what you know and pretend the best looking lady in the house just asked for your autograph and is actually interested in what you are talking about. Spend 1 minute thanking all the people that helped you.

Best of luck on the speech. -Piggy

• Like 3

Self-deprecating humor is the best defense! :2thumbs:

Other than that, practice in front of live folks as much as you can.  You'd be surprised at how doing it in front of your wife (hmmm, that kinda came out wrong . . . :P ) will trigger many of those same phobia.  The more you experience that, the more adapted you'll become to it.  Invite friends over for cigars; introduce the film, etc.