Pulled Neck Muscle Fixes?

Somehow I managed to pull my neck muscle yesterday. It wasn't that bad. Hopping in the car this morning aggravated it no end and 5 minutes into the drive i had to turn around as I couldn't move my head. 

I will get to a physio when I can hop in a car but any advice from those that have had this before. My first time.....and it certainly is not fun :rolleyes:

My apologies to those I had arranged to catch up on the phone and in person today. Right now I don't think I will be able to manage it. 

All advice welcome!

There has to be a doctor or two in the house. Until then..

I second Tiger Balm, both hot and cold. Alternating between hot and cool compresses will help. I typically take Naproxen for things like this too.

When my neck muscle lock up I usually try to stretch into the pain bad much as possible and then the opposing direction. I'm not a doctor, don't hold me liable. I hope we can cause some relief.

Two more things in combination work, when all else fails, booze and a loving woman.

Sent from my SM-G920F using Tapatalk

• Like 1

I’ve got 3 words for you: Active Release Technique, otherwise known as A.R.T.  If you can find a good therapist specializing in this in your area, I highly recommend it. This will address the cause of the problem, not the effect.

Fifty-something years old and this is your first neckpull!?

Highly recommend arnica homeopathic medicine (both pills and salve).

Beyond that, try laying on your back on a flat, firm floor and practice relaxing. I can usually get some small joint cracking when I do this right and it often loosens up my neck.

Feel better! And don't cough, cuz that hurts like a mf