Jackson Pollock

I went to the Art Gallery of Ontario yesterday to see the Abstract Expressionist New York exhibit. One of the featured artists was Jackson Pollock who has gained some serious notoriety and fame. I never really paid much attention to his work or abstract art in general. I've always favoured "classical" style art and surrealism.

DISCLAIMER: Though it is not my profession, I am a classicaly trained artist well versed in many styles: realism, surrealism, impressionism, sculpting, sketching and even good old comic book art. ;) I have a lot of respect for artists when I can make out where the artist has held true to artistic methods such as color balance, composition, etc. When I don't see it, I have a difficult time finding any appealing quality to a work. Even though I have been surprised in the past.

I do enjoy the odd piece of abstract work, but it has to appeal to me on certain technical levels such as color balance, "flow" composition and "points of interest". An abstract artist must know the "rules" of good art and be well versed in "conventional" art in order to break out of the convention and create "abstract" art. In simple terms, if you can't draw your own hand in a way that someone else would recognize it on a "mechanical" and realistic manner, then don't attempt to draw it in abstract. :snooty::D