The Elusive Perfect Draw

Gentlemen,

I've been smoking for about 12 years now but I think I've only ever had a perfect smoke on a handful of occasions. You know the type, the one where you do not have to relight, even the burn up, drag hard or take soft draws lest it get too hot and most importantly where the flavour is even throughout the whole stick.

Well it shits me, it's not only with my own stored cigars but also sticks purchased from reputable dealers and smoked straight away. The whole range of Havanas I'm talking here from Trinidads to Monte tubos.

Am I doing something wrong or is this par for the course?

Am I doing something wrong or is this par for the course?

Hard questin to answer.

Here in the States there are so many factors to Cuban cigars it gets complicated.

First most Vendors ship cigars a little moist, so it will take 30 days of rest before I like to smoke anything that has been shipped in.

I do not smoke Domestic cigars, but have found more han not most stores do not store cigars at the proper RH.

SO now a question - what RH do you store your cigars at?

I have been using 65% in the winter.

Still with some sticks I find that I wished I had dropped it down to 63-62%

Also age can play a big part in how well a cigar smokes.

I have always found 5+ years to aid in the way a cigar smokes.

Not really sure why?

maybe something to do with the oils/plume and the change a cigar goes through?

Also I think the new draw machines in Cuba will greatly effect

the problem with plugged cigars and all such things.

CC