Montecristo "A" - 2006

I'm still a newbie here, still learning the ropes. Surely didn't think I would be posting a review just yet, don't consider myself as knowledgeable of subtlties of fine Habanos (although I've been smoking them for almost 20 years now). I have a hell of a time discerning the exact flavors of a good cigar, rather like a self-taught blues musician, i find my way with instinct and what I just think is good. Like a kid who knows his neighborhood streets like the back of his hand but cannot tell you the name of the street he lives on.

What good cigars do for me is change me, take me out of my current headspace and put me somewhere else. Since I've smoked cigars for as long as I have, I am filled with great memories attached to good Habanos and when I find one with fantastic aromas, dense smoke and a taste that reminds me of a great memory of past cigar conquests, I know I'm smoking a classic.

The Montecristo "A" motivated me to write this today. The "A" had me walking down memory lane for a good 2+ hours, strolling past old friends, beautiful sunsets, laid back European coffe houses and with old smoking buddies that have long since moved on. All while walking around Long Island City, New York. Go figure.

The Monte "A" is one of the greatest cigars I've ever had the pleasure of smoking.

post-16494-0-62788300-1362350170_thumb.j

(not even half way there....)