Minis (Partagas, Monte, Cohiba, RyJ)

I am fairly new to cigars and have been trying out different brands and sizes. I bought a few packs of machine made cigarillos recently to see how these compare to hand rolled cigars. Following is my review of minis.

Cuba produces three sizes of cigarillos (small cigars defined by weighing less than three grams): minis, clubs and puritos. Mini being the smallest of the three and the smallest sized cigar Cuba makes is quoted as 20 ring size (7,8 mm diameter) with 82 mm in length. All minis are machine made and short filler (as are all Cuban cigarillos). These are produced in ICT factory in Cuba and come pre cut and with no bands. Most common packaging is a pack of 10 cigarillos (P10), packs should come cellophane wrapped however the ones I bought from the local La Casa del Habano were not. The pack of 10 minis is going for about 10 euro making the price of one cigarillo about 1 euro.

photo-52.jpg?w=300&h=300

Romeo y Julieta Mini – size comparable to a cigarette, wrapper rough and veiny, not much flavor (or about as much as an average cigarette), some bitterness in the second half, about a five minute smoke, not enjoying it too much (might as well have a Marlboro Lights).

Cohiba Mini – there is no real difference with the Romeo y Julieta, everything above can be said about the Cohibas as well, there is a very light milk chocolate note (noticeable at the start of the draw) in the first half which is replaced with bitterness in second, other than that the same as the above.

Montecristo Mini – a copy of Cohiba, there is the same milk chocolate note in the first half mixed with something fruity which disappears in about one second, other than that again everything above can be said about the Montes as well.