Your thoughts on aging...your own and your cigars

I suppose it's a question that would be more relevant for those of us in the middle age and upwards bracket but do you ever consider your own age when it comes to buying cigars? I'll try and make sense of my thoughts.

I don't want it to come across as a morbid train of thought but I've been realising,ever increasingly,that I tend to steer my purchases these days towards cigars that generally speaking,or traditionally at least,aren't considered as needing year upon year of careful storage to come into their best.

I'm "only" 45 yeas of age and I don't know to what extent my job has influenced my thoughts in this way (I'm a staff nurse on an oncology unit) but the acute awareness of life's fragility is something which just won't allow me to buy cigars with a view of laying them down for five years,for example.

As I say,I hope it doesn't come across as morbid,it certainly isn't a morbid feeling.It could just be plain,old fashioned impatience when you shake it down rolleyes.gif

Anyway,just something I've mused on and thought it'd be interesting to hear the thoughts of others.

Considering I'm only 25 years old, I like to think I have lots of years ahead to enjoy my cigars... So with that being said, I have about 10 boxes of cigars stashed away, limited release cigars, and others I feel would benefit from some age. Some of which I do not intend to open for at least 10 years... I don't live my life worrying about what will happen tomorrow, or next year..

Never even think of it. And I am 50 YO in moderate health. I just bought a box of Sir Winstons, with the intention of smoking 1 a year, on my birthday, for the next 25 years. I am hoping I need to buy another box. But if I pass, I have a nephew, who smokes cigars, and I am sure he will enjoy them.

Dave (A.K.A. Homebrew)

P.S. It is a morbid thought, but understandable in your profession.

• Like 1