The Old Fashioned Cocktail (and its many variations)

JohnS

The Old Fashioned Cocktail is considered a classic. David A. Embury listed it amongst six basic drinks in his 1948 book on cocktails, 'The Fine Art of Mixing Drinks'. (The others are the Jack Rose, Sidecar, Martini, Manhattan and Daiquiri. The book is considered a reference book on cocktails to this day and Embury, a lawyer by profession, has been elevated to a highly-respected authority in the liquor profession.)

The recent success of Mad Men has seen a comeback for this cocktail, particularly as it was Don Draper's cocktail of choice throughout the show.

The method for making an Old Fashioned varies greatly (The Wikipedia entry demonstrates this clearly). There are differences in regards to the following:

1) Do you use a cube of sugar or simple syrup (which is sugar and water combined through heating and cooled)?

2) Do you use Bourbon, Rye, Scotch or other Spirits?

3) Do you muddle fruit in the drink?

4) How much ice should you use, if at all?

5) Do you add Soda Water?

6) What is the correct garnish? Are orange/lemon Slices and maraschino cherries permissable?

These differences has even led to the creation of a website, Old Fashioned 101,which advocates a traditional method for building the drink.

My interest in the drink comes from the Ron Zacapa Centenario 23 Old Fashioned cocktails I've sampled at the Green Peppercorn restaurant in the Sydney CBD this year. I liked them, but I figured I could make them better, and at a more reasonable price!

Below is my experimentation which I carried out yesterday...

The Ron Zacapa Centenario 23 Old Fashioned Cocktail

Ingredients:

Sugar Syrup, Angostura Aromatic Bitters, Regans' Orange Bitters, Ron Zacapa Centenario 23 rum, Orange peel/s, Maraschino cherry, Ice.

Method: