Diplomaticos #2 & VR Unicos

davenoh

Good afternoon (depending on your time zone).

I'll try not to get too wordy, but I'll probably fail miserably so bare with me.  I'm a relative noob when it comes to CC purchases, and I've been out of the online cigar purchasing for a few years now.  Recently I picked up a box of Diplomaticos #2 and VR Unicos from a guy in another cigar related group.  By appearances, everything looked legit, but a couple things don't add up.  Issue #1, there's a box date stamped on the bottom of each box, but no factory code.  Is there always a factory code even with the warranty seal bar code? Perhaps the bar code has nothing to do with factory info, only seller/purchaser tracking?  This new bar code thing is new to me.  The bar code brings me to my 2nd issue. The bar code number indicates a different cigar than what is actually in the boxes. LOL  Yeah...red flags.  One box matches Montes, while another box is for Partagas.  At this point, I know you're saying to yourself, "well, yeah, these aren't legit AT ALL."  Without going into the discussion I had with the seller regarding the issue, and his reply, of course he had a simple explanation, which I can include if you like, once I opened the boxes the cigars looked (and smelled) authentic...to me anyway.  I even shared the pics of the boxes (without factory codes), and the cigars themselves with someone in another cigar group who is recognized as a go-to person to ask about all things Cuban cigars, and at first glance he was saying "100% legit" ....until the bar code issues came up. He may even be a member here so I don't want to throw him under the bus, as I appreciate his guidance in this issue.  It's just that part of me is wondering if maybe they are real.  The guy I bought the cigars from lives in Miami, and goes to Cuba frequently, like every couple of weeks bringing back various cigars that he's picked up.  Heck, he may even be a member here at FOH...I don't know.  He would share pics