Good morning,

I have been smoking cigars for 20 years now, cubans exclusively, but I would like to know the point of view from foh forum aficionados. As I am quadraplegic since a rugby scrum it is quite complicate with my "hands" to properly cut my cigar alone so I must beg for help....I have an efficient cabinet humidor for aging my cigars and I wonder if I could cut all my cigars in advance even if I don't smoke them before months/years. Will it change the aging process ?

Thanks for your advices.

I seem to recall a few members who pre-cut their cigars and then leave them in their humidors. My impression is that the cap is mainly for show, so to speak, and that as the feet of most cigars are already open, it shouldn't make much difference.

• Like 2

When I get new boxes I go through them one by one and anything I think is plugged I cut the cap off and draw test. If it’s fine it goes back in the box if not goes into my “smoke soon” box where it gets fridge treatment or something before I smoke it. My point being I keep cut cigars myslef and notice no difference.

Ultimately, if it’s convenient for you, then cut them and store them I say. Better than not being able to smoke.

All this being said, some people postulate that closed foot cigars are good because “all the aroma is packed in” similar to what people think of cigars in tubes.

This seems like a good project for someone who can build a jig and do a bit of electronics.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

• Like 1

9 minutes ago, Kferguson said:

What about something like this guy? We had one mounted to the tabletop at our store and it was fantastic.

41B0iEgaHxL._SL1500_.jpg

@Kferguson Beat me to it. I was just thinking about that exact table top cutter. BUt worst case, yeah you can precut as long as they stay in the humidor.

• Like 2