Currency management for an American in Cuba

JY0

We are headed to Cuba via a Cruise in May. As an American I know I need cash to purchase cigars in Cuba. My credit/debit cards are from US banks and I do not want another card.  

I've read various things but it seems the best approach is to buy Euros or Canadian dollars before we go and covert those to CUC in Cuba? Is this the best way?

I'm a Cuba newb so thanks for your patience!

Suggestions appreciated. 

• Like 2

I'd just calculate what the cost of the double conversion would run and then compare to the 13% conversion fee for USD to CUCs. 

One thing I would suggest looking into is the cost of having your bank send you Euros or CAD while you are home in the US.  If a big bank and depending on what kind of account you have, they often have more favorable rates than currency exchanges.

• Like 1

3ish percent for USD to EUR/CAD is what I see locally. Add 3% in Cuba for the second version and it costs you 6%. Use USD and it costs you 13%. 13% sounds bad, but it's only $7 on the hundred more and roughly what we pay in state tax here in the mid west. It's easier for me to just use USD as I'm not worried about the extra 7 bucks. I have found other methods (locals) that will exchange for 10% or less so, the difference between 7% and 4% gets even smaller. 

I say, don't sweat it either way.. 

8 minutes ago, Ethernut said:

3ish percent for USD to EUR/CAD is what I see locally. Add 3% in Cuba for the second version and it costs you 6%. Use USD and it costs you 13%. 13% sounds bad, but it's only $7 on the hundred more and roughly what we pay in state tax here in the mid west. It's easier for me to just use USD as I'm not worried about the extra 7 bucks. I also have found other methods (locals) that will exchange for 10% or less so, the difference between 7% and 4% gets even smaller. 

I say, don't sweat it either way.. 

Guess I depends on how much you intent to spend