Air tight vs. not air tight humidors

lavish&acquiredtaste

Hmm...interesting. The info seems to contradict itself a bit. They claim that a humidor needs to maintain a constant level of relative humidity, which I’m on board with. But I can’t really see how ventilation allows the humidor to adapt to changing conditions in the surrounding area. But then I’m no scientist.

I keep my humidors in an air conditioned room, where I imagine air-tightness is crucial, and my constant hygrometer readings seem to support this. As far as exchanging air, the doors are open briefly almost daily...I would think this would satisfy that concern.

Well, if you really want to page Piggert, then call @PigFish ;)

A company claiming humidors would NEED to be leaking is simply not capable of implementing a true self-sustaining active climate control. That's all behind this yack. They obviously need to present this as being "science" in an attempt to hide their own incapabilities. What is more, their claim only holds if assuming a net flux from the inside to the ambient (tropics, de-humidification anyone?). Clear and brief - utter nonsense. Air exchange with the ambient is not needed in a controlled humidor. But I am sure Piggy as a practitioner will add his expert remarks here.

• Like 1

• 4 weeks later...
On 7/8/2018 at 12:05 PM, Colt45 said:

Some members seal the boxes within their humidors to try and limit air exchange. Some members use fans within their humidors in order to circulate air...

Circulation of air, and 'air exchange' are two entirely different topics.

There is only one reason to 'bleed' to or from the ambient, and that is because you need its assistance. I have tried this. A decade ago, I felt I needed the help of a rH negative ambient as so many humidor makers require.