Weight loss journey, surgery, and recovery

• Replies 72
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Top Posters In This Topic

Popular Posts

Hi all, This post is about my weight loss journey and hopefully to encourage anyone considering (with a doctors strong reccomendation) the same journey I'm taking So I have been 'morbidly o

I know I'm bumping a long quiet thread but I wanted to add a status update. My current weight loss is around 70kg. I've steadied out at my current weight but I'm about to take my exercise up a notch w

I give anesthesia for many bariatric surgeries, and I can tell you first hand that the failure rate for the bands is very high, even when it is perfectly placed,  We rarely ever do lap bands anymore.

I am happy for your success and wish you nothing but the best.  I work in the medical field and winced a little when you recommended surgery.  It really should be your last resort.  Insurance companies won't cover it unless your BMI is over 40 (35 with complications).  But I have a feeling in time, those numbers will come down.

I hope it all works out for you, good luck, and I hope you don't keep pushing elective surgery onto to many people.

• Like 2

1 hour ago, Monterey said:
I am happy for your success and wish you nothing but the best.  I work in the medical field and winced a little when you recommended surgery.  It really should be your last resort.  Insurance companies won't cover it unless your BMI is over 40 (35 with complications).  But I have a feeling in time, those numbers will come down. I hope it all works out for you, good luck, and I hope you don't keep pushing elective surgery onto to many people. 

Hi, sorry if you took it that way.

I wasn't trying to push it on anyone as a first option as surgery is always the last resort. I've modified my original post to reflect that.