Humidity spike.

Frozen North

I have been using a wineador now for 3 years. It has not moved location since being set up. It was holding a steady 64% humidity for a long time. Recently, it has now gone up to 68%. I can’t figure out why the increase. Any ideas would be appreciated.

• 2 weeks later...
  • 2 weeks later...

It happens to me as well. Humidity is relative to temperature, so as temp goes down, relative humidity goes up. So don't be in panic mod.
Are you using beads to maintain humidity? A relatively full humidor with plenty of beads should stay stable pretty easily unless you are opening it constantly or have added wet sticks as havanaclub already mentioned.

• 5 weeks later...

I’m using a cigar oasis 3.0. Which has had its issues in its own

Right now I have it in the middle of my wineador. It set at 69%RH but holds at 72%. I have two other hygrometers. One at top usually the same reading. The bottom one usually 2% more. I don’t know what the issues are

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Does your system dehumidify? If no, that is a problem!

As intimated above. If you wish to debug one of these devises, you need to post more data about your ranges of temperatures and rH both in and out of the humidor.

Cheers! -Piggy

• 1 month later...
On 11/16/2019 at 9:11 AM, PigFish said:

Does your system dehumidify? If no, that is a problem!

As intimated above. If you wish to debug one of these devises, you need to post more data about your ranges of temperatures and rH both in and out of the humidor.

Cheers! -Piggy

+1

It will also be difficult to control if it's on the empty side. Add some empty boxes to take up some space if possible. 

On 12/25/2019 at 7:46 AM, Burningman said:

+1

It will also be difficult to control if it's on the empty side. Add some empty boxes to take up some space if possible.