Leaving boxes open

I saw someone on here say that leaving the box open when aging ruins the barnyard smell.  Is this true? Also, will it hurt with aging at all?

Below is a picture of my walk-in humidor with some of the open boxes being those that I’d like to age.  It doesn’t get direct light (except when I turn on the lights).  Would anyone be worried about this?

BDD99415-3620-412B-AE36-AC5053199D36.jpeg

• Like 1

34 minutes ago, Riverstyx said:

I saw someone on here say that leaving the box open when aging ruins the barnyard smell.  Is this true? Also, will it hurt with aging at all?

Below is a picture of my walk-in humidor with some of the open boxes being those that I’d like to age.  It doesn’t get direct light (except when I turn on the lights).  Would anyone be worried about this?

BDD99415-3620-412B-AE36-AC5053199D36.jpeg

Nice walk in ?? I leave closed but I’m no expert. 

Flavours won't mix or be influenced by others. Possibly if you store a load of NC flavoured cigars on contact with CC but not just in the vicinity.

There's a school of thought that sealing up boxes will help keep them more intense as cello/tubed/foil wrapped cigars seem to be generally quiet pungent even when aged decades.

If it's stock that you're going to smoke through in the next 6 months I don't think you have anything to worry about. Beyond that you're into the cigar myth territory and it's whatever you find works best for you

• Like 4

Awesome humidor. I believe that you are over thinking things regarding open or closed, but I am not an expert. Looks to me like you built a walk in to have a visually stunning display and you nailed it. That seems to be what makes you happy so I'd say keep em open.