Construction Issues

Hey all.  I've been smoking cigars for about 10 years (I'm 33 for reference), smoking mostly NCs for most of that time.  Last year I started experimenting with Cubans - I bought a box of 10 Partagas Serie D No. 4, and later a full box of RASS. Then in the past six months I bought a tin of 16 Vegueros Tapados, and then 15 of various singles from FOH.

All of the cigars have been delicious, but I've had MAJOR construction issues with the RASS, Bolivar Coronas, RyJ Short Churchills, and a few others.  The Vegueros mostly burn okay, and I don't remember having problems with the Partagas.  I've never had this many issues with NC cigars... I'd say about half the box of RASS were straight up plugged, most burned unevenly.  I'm having similar issues with the other cigars I mentioned too. 

I keep my humidor at 65 RH with a large Boveda pack (the 320 gram one) and my setup is basically a Sistema locking plastic container with a cedar tray inside. Are these issues common for Cubans or am I just unlucky? I'm considering just going back to NCs if I can't figure out what I'm doing wrong. Thanks for any input!

• Like 1

If the boxes have fairly recent box codes the sticks may have some excess moisture. Laying a box down in the humidor for at least 90 days may help to acclimate the cigars to your humidor. You can even try dropping the humidity % down to about 62-64. 

• Like 1

As others have said - yah. That's what you can expect. What gets me is the taste will vary from cigar to cigar in the box, but if you compare box to box of cigars, if you took the wrapper off, you'd be unable to tell some of them were the same. It's a wild ride. 

Good advice above. At least 90 days at 62-63% maximum is a good suggestion. 

If your ambient humidity is high, you may never be getting anywhere close to the low 60s. You'd be surprised. I live in Southern California and my rH never gets below 58 in the humidor even when I forget to put in the humidifier.