Gifted a NewAir CC-300H! Need some help!

MasterYotti

Hello fellow FOH’ers!

I am fortunate enough to have a wonderful wife who surprised me with a NewAir CC-300H for my birthday and since I am new to FOH and have never had a humidor larger than 100 count, I have several questions that I would greatly appreciate some help answering! After plenty of hours researching and trying to figure out how to best execute setting up the CC-300H, I was hoping that I could leverage the knowledge and experience of this awesome group to best help me get started on the right foot!

Before I list the questions, here are my plans for the unit so far: I have decided to season it with 3 - 320g 84RH Boveda packs for two weeks. I am planning on keeping the unit with 65RH Boveda packs, and keep it at a temperature of 65F, so a steady 65RH/65F (I know easier said than done). I wanted to separate the unit into sections based on short term, aging/long term, Cuban, and Non-Cuban. I will be adding 2 Boveda Butlers, one on the top and one in the bottom, so that I can hopefully get an accurate reading throughout (may be overkill, but I think the extra cost is worth the peace of mind). Lastly, I would love to utilize the glass door by keeping full factory boxes of cigars, this way I can look at them in their natural habitat!

1. Is it a bad idea to keep Non-Cuban and Cuban cigars in the same humidor? Would they be best at 65RH and a temperature of 65F? Or lower? 65RH/67F? Other suggestions? I didn’t know if they should be kept separate or if one combination works best for both? Fingers crossed! I know this can be a matter of personal taste and opinion, but I thought it would be great to see what others say in regards to this topic. My main goals are to absolutely avoid mold and beetles, while maintaining a steady RH and temperature so the cigars are at their most enjoyable.