Tongue Burn With Fresh Cigars?

Lately I have been rolling my own cigars and whenever I smoke them there is a very strong pepper burn over my tongue. It's so strong I don't think this is intentional because I cannot see anybody enjoying this even those who like a lot of pepper. The blend is supposed to be medium and I've tried a couple different kits with different strains of tobacco but the powerful pepper burn is prominent in each. Does this mean there is too much moisture in my cigars? I put them in my humidor for about a week and a half but I'm thinking maybe that wasn't long enough but since im new to this I really don't know what to think.

Any insight from other cigar rollers would be very appreciated. 

*Are you using pipe tobacco, by chance??

1 minute ago, NSXCIGAR said:

I saw this title and thought maybe they were putting the wrong end in their mouth...

does that make a difference? both ends of my cigar are open but so are some of the cigars i buy like the villiger brasil exports are also uncapped and open on both ends

33 minutes ago, doctirderp said:

does that make a difference? both ends of my cigar are open but so are some of the cigars i buy like the villiger brasil exports are also uncapped and open on both ends

He meant the lit end.   LOL

• Like 1
  • Haha 3

23 hours ago, Colt45 said:

Blending is as much of an art as rolling.

i am using kits that come with an assortment that make up a predetermined blend

On 5/10/2020 at 10:14 AM, SigmundChurchill said:

He meant the lit end.   LOL

haha it almost feels like it sometimes

• Haha 2

22 hours ago, CaptainQuintero said:

Do you mean tongue burn/bite from smoking too hot? Or actual too much pepper burning like a flavour?

i smoke it slow because i know getting it too hot will make it peppery but i also dont think its the flavor because all the kits i get have this component so i feel like it might be a moisture thing as you need the leaves very moist when rolling

22 hours ago, havanaclub said: