Do you store/age in cardboard 3/15 packs

It seems that the 3/15 packs have been coming around more. So far I have been picking up packs that I am unlikely to have for more than a few years. Lately though I have contemplated picking up more to age given some of the recent prices relative to boxes.  Ordinarily I limit aging boxes to slb whenever possible or dress box. 

Wondering from those who have had their collections longer if they taste a difference between the sticks aged in the cardboard vs dress box or even SLB?

I guess I could always take the sticks out and age them in an emptySLB, but that somehow seems less desirable for a few reasons  

• Replies 60
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Top Posters In This Topic

Popular Posts

I've had some good cigars that have been stored in cardboard, the majority have been quite dull though. Personally I take them out and stick into a SLB

The cigars in cardboard are the roundest, but do become blander over time than in other presentations.  The exception may be if they are in celo and cardboard, but those cigars are not so common at th

After talking with El Prez on zoom, I took all of mine out of the cardboard and put them into a humidor. 

Whether it's mental or real, I don't like keeping cigars in those individual cardboard boxes that come in 3s for even a short term.  Not so much a taste issue, I just don't like them.  I either keep them in the drawers of the fridges or old boxes in the tuppers.  No experience on long term though. 

• Like 1

6 minutes ago, VKUTT said:

Here's something though...dress boxes are cardboard and paper; thoughts?

Dress boxes are plywood (potentially with a cedar veneer) covered in paper, I think. Whereas the cardboard packs are each cigar (or each group of cigars) surrounded in cardboard and inside another layer of cardboard. So I think the volume of cardboard and how much cardboard surrounds each cigar is a bit of a difference.