Box set aside for aging develops white mold...what do you do?

Checked in on a box of Cohiba Exquisitos from 2017 and tiny bit of white mold developed on the edge of the cedar separation piece inside the box. And bit of the white stuff on one head. Btw, I am a brush off and smoke guy with white mold. I won’t pitch it, but fully admit it irks me to see.

I wanted to experience what these do over 5-10 yrs, but when I’ve gotten white mold in the past it never seems to remain just a tiny bit over time. What do you do in this situation if you intended to keep aging? I am inclined to just move them into the smoke now pile.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

I'm not an expert on mold in cigars, but what is your humidity and temperature? High (or higher) humidity and high (or higher) temperature are the combo that results in mold. Cold enough and dry enough and you don't get mold. At least that is my understanding of mold. I don't know the exact temps and humidity levels for cigars.

Edit: This calculator will give you days to mold for any temperature and humidity, however I believe it's for paper and not cigars. Gives some idea though:

http://www.dpcalc.org/

• Like 3
  • Thanks 1

I'm not an expert on mold in cigars, but what is your humidity and temperature? High (or higher) humidity and high (or higher) temperature are the combo that results in mold. Cold enough and dry enough and you don't get mold. At least that is my understanding of mold. I don't know the exact temps and humidity levels for cigars.

Monitor like a hawk with SensorPush. Yearly average is 66F 65%. Currently 60.9F 64.6%. Never above 70F 67%

• Like 1

Are you using a wineador or other type of refrigeration humidor? If so, put the sensor where the offending box is and monitor the RH & temp there. Sometime you can get a spot where the humidity/temp is higher than other places.

• Like 3