Starter cigar for first time smoker

I was choosing my weekend smoke between these three "shorties" when I overheard this question and thought it was a great one I would like to get your opinion on too. 

What would be the first cuban cigar that you would recommend to a complete beginner visiting a cigar lounge for the first time? And would you recommend the same cigar to a lady as you would to a gent? 

20201127_105955.jpg

8 hours ago, Edicion said:
I was choosing my weekend smoke between these three "shorties" when I overheard this question and thought it was a great one I would like to get your opinion on too. 
What would be the first cuban cigar that you would recommend to a complete beginner visiting a cigar lounge for the first time? And would you recommend the same cigar to a lady as you would to a gent?

I'm probably a little biased because I'm a huge Montecristo fan, but they are all very good smokes, aren't particularly expensive and are a name even new smokers would recognize. They also have a huge selection of vitolas to choose from.

Most are mild-medium to medium in my opinion, so they won't be overwhelming.

I wouldn't recommend anything different for a man or a woman. No reason I can think of why there would be a difference between the sexes.

8 hours ago, njpinette said:
Hoyo de Monterrey is a good marca to start for someone new to cigars. The smaller vitolas are a good value

I would agree with this also. I have always enjoyed all the HDM's I have had, keep a fair number on hand, and they are a little less than a Montecristo on average.

• Like 2
  • Thanks 1

The cream and sugar aspect of a hdm, maybe a petite robusto, will go well with new smokers.

If you have a good box of R and J that has that cherry flavor, works out well

these are the 2 I pass out to new smokers and go over well

• Like 4

2 hours ago, DaBoot said:

The cream and sugar aspect of a hdm, maybe a petite robusto, will go well with new smokers.