Need advice

patrickamory

Hello all,

I'm a relative newbie and I need some help.

I just got back to my NYC apartment after 5 weeks away in midsummer. I opened my Daniel Marshall humidor and found that my Monte No. 4s had a light white powder on them, as per the pic.

The other cigars in the humi were untouched.

Anything to worry about?

Thanks!

Patrick

IMG_7111.JPG

• Sad 2

2 minutes ago, patrickamory said:

Anything to worry about?

I would worry about your rH...:yes:

wipe them down gently with a moist paper towel. I like 2 oz distilled water with a drop of hydrogen peroxide. Air dry for 15 mins.

• Like 4

Good question about the RH, I aim for 61-63%, but it was at 68% (hot humid summer here, and while I've been away the AC has not been on).

So just wipe down with distilled water and try to bring the humidity down?

First, you can breathe easy they aren’t ruined. You can wipe them off and put them back. Check the foot for mold though. Some will say toss them if the foot is moldy. Check your humidor lining for mold as well.

From what the pics show, they are salvageable. But you may need to rest them for a bit longer. This was suggested to me when my wineador malfunctioned and I had whole boxes get damp. Someone made an interesting position that the cigars may go through an unintended maturation process. 

• Like 3

2F336A23-0379-494B-BE05-EF0974512810.jpeg.70786fb64b78d862c94e8d0791006690.jpeg

Some folks don’t bother wiping off the white powder.  I had the same on some Chiba Coro Esp and wiped em and checked on them periodically. No issues!

Believe me, the situation is not sugar coated. 🤓

• Haha 2

2 hours ago, Heels82 said:

...you better listen to him Flounder, he's in pre-med.  

Thank you... this was where I hoped it would go :) 

• Like 1